Click on the photos to enlarge them.                Deutsche Version

Map Yellowstone Trip 2011

2 Weeks

4091 km / 2557 miles
 

In mid of June 2011  Jayne and I rode our motorcycles from Portland, Oregon east through southern Washington to Idaho. There we rode once again over Lolo Pass into Montana. Then we rode south along the Rocky Mountains with a stop in the he western cities Nevada City and Virginia City. Further on to the main goal of the trip in Wyoming to the Yellowstone National Park, which we visited for three days. Three days are of course not enough to see the entire huge park, but it is enough to see the main attractions along the 8-shaped road, and not just by driving by. The Geysir Old Faithful and the surrounding area is very touristy, but it is absolutely worth seeing. Further on we rode south through the Grand Teton National Park and then west again through Idaho. We visited the Craters of the Moon National Monument before we came to Oregon again. Since the Burning Moto Man (a meeting for motorcycle travelers) in southern Oregon was coming up we stopped there for the weekend before we then finally headed home.

General Information

 
Click for Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming Forecast

 

The best time to travel to the Yellowstone National Park is July through September, but then campsites and hotels have to be reserved well in advance. In June one still has to expect snow (as we had it) and in October the snow is already back. The whole Yellowstone area  is on a elevation of 2000-2500m (6500-8200 feet)!

The road surface is good and potholes are seldom.

In terms of safety I can only say that as in every tourist area theft from tents and vehicles happen, and also pick pockets are not seldom. Another important point while camping is to follow the rules regarding bears and other wild animals. If one follows the park rules attacks are rather unlikely.

The traffic rules here are a little different. Buffalo/Bison have the right of way, and they are often on the roads. One also has to expect traffic jams, because everybody just parks on the road if there are Buffalos nearby, or even bears.

Cowboys
In Montana we saw some 'real' Cowboys on horses. Yes, there are still a few, but they are seldom. Modern Cowboys usually use dirt bikes or helicopters. Cowboys
Montana
The landscape in western Montana is absolutely gorgeous, even though the roads don't have too many turns. Montana
Nevada City
The western towns of Nevada City and Virginia City are very interesting, especially Nevada City. We will certainly come back, then with more time to explore the town (entrance fee charged). Nevada City
Montana
We love the wide open landscapes of Montana. Montana
Yellowstone
After 4 days we reached the Yellowstone National Park and after only a few minutes in the park we saw first herd of buffalos/bison. Yellowstone

Motorcycle aluminum panniers and top cases

Made by an experienced motorcycle traveller.

Motorcycle Aluminium Pannier

Motorcycle Aluminium Top case

Motorcycle Aluminum Top box

Panniers available in 40l and 33l
Top boxs available in 20l and 36l
Silver/Grey or Black

Motorcycle Aluminium Top box

Motorcycle Aluminum Trunk

Motorcycle Aluminum Top case

Quality is essential, not only on a RTW tour.

Bilder zum Vergrößern einfach anklicken.             English version

Karte Yellowstone-Tour 2011

2 Wochen

4091 km
 

Mitte Juni 2011 fuhren Jayne und ich von Portland, Oregon in östlicher Richtung durch Süd-Washington nach Idaho. Dort ging es dann wieder mal über den Lolo Pass nach Montana. Dann fuhren wir nach Süden-Osten entlang der Rocky Mountains mit Zwischenstops in den alten Western-Städten Nevada City und Virginia City. Weiter bis zum Hauptziel der Tour in Wyoming zum Yellowstone National Park, den wir uns dann in 3 Tagen ansahen. 3 Tage sind natürlich viel zu wenig um den riesigen Park komplett zu sehen, aber es reicht um die Sehenswürdigkeiten entlag der als 8 geformten Strasse zu sehen, und nicht nur im vorbeifahren. Der Geysir Old Faithful und das Gebiet drumherum ist zwar das touristischste, aber trotzdem unbedingt sehenswert. Weiter ginge es dann nach Süden durch den Grand Teton National Park und dann wieder nach Westen durch Idaho. Wir besuchten das Craters of the Moon National Monument bevor wir dann wieder nach Oregon kamen. Da gerade das Burning Moto Man Treffen (ein Motorrad-Reisetreffen) in Süd-Oregon stattfand nahmen wir teil, bevor es dann wieder nachhause ging.

Allgemeine Infos

 

booked.net

 

Die beste Reisezeit für eine Tour zum Yellowstone Nationalpark ist Juli bis September, dann ist eine Reservierung von Campingplätzen und Hotelzimmern aber schon lange im voraus nötig. Im Juni muss man noch mit Schnee rechnen (wie wir ihn hatten) und im Oktober ist der Schnee schon wieder zurück. Das ganze Yellowstone-Gebiet liegt auf 2000-2500m Höhe!

Der Straßenzustand ist recht gut, aber es gibt durchaus auch sehr tiefe Schlaglöcher auf die man aufpassen muss.

Zum Thema Sicherheit kann ich nur sagen, daß es wie in jedem Touristengebiet auch Diebstähle aus Zelten und Auto gibt, auch Taschendiebe sind nicht selten. Ein nicht unwichtiger Punkt zur Sicherheit sind, besonders beim Zelten, Bären und andere wilde Tiere. Wenn man den Parkregeln folgt sind Angriffe eher unwahrscheinlich.

Die Verkehrsregeln sind hier etwas anders. So haben z.B. Büffel/Bison vorfahrt, und sie laufen oft auf der Strasse rum. Man muss auch auf Verkehrsstaus gefasst sein, da jeder einfach auf der Strasse parkt wenn ein paar Büffel, oder sogar ein Bär zu sehen ist.

Cowboys
In Montana sahen wir dann "richtige" Cowboys auf Pferden. Ja, die gibt es noch, aber selten. Moderne Cowboys benutzen meistens Cross Motorräder und Helikopter. Cowboys
Montana
Die Landschaft im westlichen Montana ist wirklich toll, auch wenn die Strassen oftmals nicht wirklich kurvenreich sind. Montana
Nevada City
Die alte Westernstädte Nevada City und Virginia City sind interessant zu sehen, besonders Nevada City. Wir kommen sicher zurück, dann mit mehr Zeit um uns die Stadt genauer anzusehen (kostet Eintritt). Nevada City
Montana
Wir lieben die weiten Landschaften von Montana. Montana
Yellowstone
Nach 4 Tagen erreichten wir den Yellowstone National Park und schon nach wenigen Minuten im Park sahen wir unsere erste Büffelherde. Yellowstone

Motorrad Alukoffer und Aluminium Topcase

Gefertigt bei einem erfahrenen Motorradreisenden.

Motorrad Aluminium Topcase

Motorrad Aluminium Koffer

Motorrad Alukoffer

Alukoffer erhältlich in 40l und 33l
Topcase erhältlich in 20l und 36l.

Motorrad Aluminium Seitenkoffer

Motorrad Alu Koffer

Motorrad Aluminium Topcase

Qualität ist entscheidend, nicht nur auf einer RTW Tour.