Coyotetrips > Trips with Motorcycle > Central America > 2023 Belize >1>2>3>4>5                Click on the photos to enlarge them.                           Deutsche Version flag
Cahal Pech Mayan Ruins in San Ignacio, Belize
From Xunantunich we rode our motorcycles back to San Ignacio to visit the Cahal Pech Maya Ruins. I had first thought that we would just walk to the ruins from our hotel since they are close to downtown, BUT they are on top of a very steep hill. These ruins are different from most others in that they have many doors, rooms and passage ways.
Cahal Pech Mayan Ruins in San Ignacio, Belize
Bridge in San Ignacio, Belize
We rode our motorcycles over the bridge in San Ignacio one last time and headed east to stay at the Warrie Head Resort. They have huge, beautiful grounds and a very good restaurant. The new owners are very friendly and the rooms are good and clean. Unfortunately they only have a 6'x10' above ground pool. Warrie Head Resort, Belize
Sauce & Ice, Belize
Then we rode our motorcycles down the hummingbird highway towards Punta Gorda. On the way we stopped for a tasty lunch at Sauce & Ice. Further down the road the clouds turned darker and darker. Before we reached Punta Gorda we got properly drenched by a tropical downpour. tropical downpour
Punta Gorda, Belize
In Punta Gorda we stayed at The Sea Front Inn, a well worn hotel at the edge of town. Before Covid it had a highly rated restaurant, which is still close in Feb 2023. Right next door is a small restaurant with decent food.
The actual town of Punta Gorda, Belize also hasn't quite recovered from Covid yet. Several restaurants that are listed in the latest Lonely Planet guide are closed for good.
Punta Gorda, Belize
Nim Li Punit Mayan Ruins, Belize
Jayne decided she needed a day off. So, she stayed in Punta Gorda while I went on the motorcycle to see a coupe of more Mayan ruins. My first stop was at Nim Li Punit, which is not far from the highway. This site is relatively small but what makes it different from others are the carved standing stones. Nim Li Punit Mayan Ruins, Belize
dirt and gravel back roads in Belize
The second site I wanted to go to is a little further from the highway. I enjoyed riding on dirt and gravel back roads through small Mayan villages. Most of the houses in these villages are traditional wooden huts with thatched roofs and mud floors.
dirt and gravel back roads in Belize
Lubaantun Mayan Ruins in Belize
The second site was Lubaantun Mayan Ruins. It's also a little smaller site and this one is again different from others in that it was built entirely without the use of mortar. All rocks are just laid on top of each other. Very interesting site though. Lubaantun Mayan Ruins in Belize

Coyotetrips > Reisen mit Motorrad > Mittelamerika > 2023 Belize >1>2>3>4>5                  Bilder zum Vergrößern einfach anklicken.                       English version flag
Cahal Pech Mayan Ruins in San Ignacio, Belize
Von Xunantunich fuhren wir mit unseren Motorrädern zurück nach San Ignacio um die Cahal Pech Maya Ruinen zu besuchen. Erst hatte ich gedacht, dass wir einfach zu Fuss zu den Ruinen gehen, da sie nahe bei der Innenstadt sind, ABER sie sind ganz oben auf einem steilen Hügel. Diese Ruinen unterscheiden sich von den meisten indem sie viele Türen, Räume und Gänge haben. Cahal Pech Mayan Ruins in San Ignacio, Belize
Bridge in San Ignacio, Belize
Wir fuhren mit unseren Motrrädern ein letztes Mal über die Brücke von San Ignacio und fuhren nach Osten um im Warrie Head Resort zu übernachten. Sie haben ein sehr grosses, schönes Gelände und ein sehr gutes Restaurant. Die neuen Besitzer sind sehr freundlich und die Zimmer sind gut und sauber. Leider haben sie nur einen kleinen 2x3 m aufgestellten Pool, mehr ein Planschbecken. Warrie Head Resort, Belize
Sauce & Ice, Belize
Dann fuhren wir auf unseren Motorrädern den Hummingbird Highway runter Richtung Punta Gorda. Auf dem Weg hielten wir für ein leckeres Mittagsessen bei Sauce & Ice. Weiter im Süden wurden die Wolken dann immer dunkler und dunkler. Bevor wir Punta Gorda erreichten wurden wir so richtig gewaschen von einem tropischen Starkregen, kurz aber heftig. tropical downpour
Punta Gorda, Belize
In Punta Gorda übernachteten wir im The Sea Front Inn, einem nicht mehr neuen Hotel am Rand der Stadt. Bevor Covid hatte es ein hoch bewertetes Restaurant, was aber im Feb 2023 immernoch geschlossen ist. Aber direkt nebenan gibt es ein kleines Restaurant mit recht gutem Essen.
Der eigentliche Ort Punta Gorda, Belize hat sich auch noch nicht von Covid erholt. Viele Restaurants, die im neuesten Lonely Planet aufgelistet sind, sind geschlossen, die meisten wohl endgültig.
Punta Gorda, Belize
Nim Li Punit Mayan Ruins, Belize
Jayne entschied, dass sie einen Ruhetag brauchte. Also blieb sie in Punta Gorda während ich mit dem Motorrad losfuhr um ein paar mehr Maya Ruinen zu sehen. Mein erster Stopp war bei Nim Li Punit, was nicht weit vom Highway ist. Diese Stätte ist relativ klein, aber was sie von anderen unterscheidet sind die gravierten stehenden Steine. Nim Li Punit Mayan Ruins, Belize
dirt and gravel back roads in Belize
Die zweite Stätte, zu der ich wollte war etwas weiter vom Highway. Ich hatte Spass auf den Lehm- und Schotterpisten zu fahren, durch kleine Maya-Dörfer. Die meisten Häuser in diesen Dörfern sind traditionelle Holzhütten mit Reed-Dächern und Erdboden. Oftmals steht aber ein Motorrad oder sogar ein SUV vor der Tür.
dirt and gravel back roads in Belize
Lubaantun Mayan Ruins in Belize
Die zweite Stätte war Lubaantun Maya Ruinen. Es ist auch etwas kleiner und diese Stätte ist wiederum unterschiedlich da sie komplett ohne Mörtel gebaut wurde. Alle Steine sind nur aufeinander gelegt. Aber sehr interessant. Lubaantun Mayan Ruins in Belize