Click on the photos to enlarge them.                Deutsche Version flag

Map Nevada-Oregon Trip 2018

13 days
4276 km / 2657 miles

Early July 2018 Jayne and I started on our Nevada motorcycle trip. Due to work restraints (again) I had to do it July/August, which is NOT the best time to ride in Nevada because of the heat. We rode from Portland, Oregon south-east to Prineville. From there we went further south-east to Frenchglen, where we had reserved a room at the historic hotel. Further south on gravel roads over Steens Mountains and on into Nevada. From Winnemucca we rode south to Austin, NV but couldn't avoid a short stretch on I80. In Austin we turned east and continued on Hwy 50, The Lonliest Road In America, all the way to Great Basin National Park. From there we rode further south to Rachel, NV, with a very short and unplanned trip to Las Vegas. West again past Tonopah and north towards Reno, but not actually going there. We took a small road towards Gerlach, NV, close to the site of Burning Man, which was a few weeks after we passed through. Riding further north we came trough a little bit of California before entering Oregon again. We had planned to visit Crater Lake again, but due to the heat and a wildfire we skipped it, camped at Odell Lake and then rode back home. On our motorcycle trips we usually tent camp most of the time, but on this trip we stayed most nights in motels due to the overwhelming heat during the day and little relieve at night.



The best time for such a trip is NOT summer! Most days we had temperatures of around 100F (38C), with the high near Las Vegas at 113F (45C). On previous trips in Nevada we had experienced hot days with very cold nights, but this time it barely cooled of at night, so that we opted for air conditioned motels most of the time.

The road conditions are generally good. Even most of the gravel roads are in decend conditon. Paved roads got very hot in the sun, therefore we rode with higher tire pressure than normal to reduce the risk of the tires overheating on our loaded down bikes.

In terms of safety wild animals and wildfires are probably the greatest thread (besides other drivers). Not only bears can be dangerous, but mountain lions and even racoons can be dangerous. We always left our food in locked aluminum panniers when camping. In regards to wildfires it is advisable to ask at ranger stations about current conditions and expected fire direction. There are also many phone apps out there to show wildfires, but cell coverage in the middle of nowhere is spotty at best.

Journey to the middle of nowhere I saw this in a travel guide for Nevada, and it was true for most of our motorcycle trip.
Oregon Highway 22
We left the interstate 5 near Salem and rode east on highway 22 past Detroit lake.
 
Later on highway 20 we stopped to enjoy the view of Mt. Washington.
View of Mt. Washington
Oregon highway 27
In Prineville, OR we turned south on highway 27, which lead into a canyon, with lots of campgrounds. Crooked River Highway
Motorcycle camping at Palisades Campground
We picked Palisades Campground and got the best spot, at the end of the lower level with some shade.

After we set up camp we walked around a bit and enjoyed the canyon and Crooked River.
Crooked River
Hwy 27 / Crooked River Highway
The next morning we continued south on hwy 27, Crooked River Hwy. Nice, winding road.

About halfway down the road turned into gravel, well maintained with little washboard.
Hwy 27 / Crooked River Highway, Gravel

Motorcycle aluminum panniers and top cases

Made by an experienced motorcycle traveller.

Motorcycle Aluminium Pannier

Motorcycle Aluminium Top case

Motorcycle Aluminum Top box

Panniers available in 47l, 40l and 33l
Top boxs available in 20l and 36l
Silver/Grey or Black

Motorcycle Aluminium Top box

Motorcycle Aluminum Trunk

Motorcycle Aluminum Top case

Quality is essential, not only on a RTW tour.

Bilder zum Vergrößern einfach anklicken.                English version flag

Karte Nevada-Oregon Tour 2018

13 Tage
4276 km

Anfang July 2018 Jayne und ich starteten unsere Nevada Motorrad Tour. Wegen meiner Arbeit konnte ich (wieder) nur im Juli Urlaub nehmen, was NICHT die beste Zeit ist für eine Motorradtour durch Nevada, wegen der Hitze. Wir fuhren von Portland, Oregon südöstlich nach Prineville. Von dort ging es weiter südöstlich nach Frenchglen, wo wir ein Zimmer im historischen Hotel reserviert hatten. Weiter nach Süden auf Schotterpisten über den Steens Mountain und weiter nach Nevada. Von Winnemucca fuhren wir südlich nach Austin, NV aber konnten eine kurze Strecke auf ger Interstate 80 nicht vermeiden. In Austin bogen wir nach Osten ab und fuhren wir auf dem Highway 50, The Lonliest Road In America, weiter bis zum Great Basin National Park. Von dort fuhren wir weiter nach Rachel, NV, mit einem sehr kurzen, ungeplanten Zwischenstop in Las Vegas. Wieder westlich durch Tonopah und nördlich Richtung Reno, aber nicht in die Stadt. Wir nahmen eine kleine Nebenstrecke nach Gerlach, NV, nahe der Wüste wo der Burning Man stattfindet, welcher nur ein paar Wochen nachdem wir da waren stattfand. Weiter nach Norden kamen wir durch ein kleines Stück von Kalifornien bevor wir wieder nach Oregon kamen. Wir hatten geplant Crater Lake zu besuchen, aber wegen der Hitze und Waldbränden fuhren wir daran vorbei, übernachteten am Odell Lake, und fuhren dann nach Hause. Auf unseren Motorradtouren zelten wir normalerweise die meiste Zeit, aber auf dieser Tour übernachteten wir die meisten Nächte in Motels wegen der erdrückenden Hitze am Tag und wenig Abkühlung in der Nacht.

Find more about Weather in Winnemucca, NV
Find more about Weather in Las Vegas, NV
Die beste Zeit für eine Motorradtour durch Nevada ist NICHT der Sommer! An den meisten Tagen hatten wir Temperaturen zwischen 35C und 40C, mit einer Höhsttemperatur in Las Vegas von 45C. Auf vorherigen Touren in Nevada hatten wir heisse Tage mit sehr kalten Nächten, aber dieses Mal kühlte es nachts kaum ab, so dass wir uns oft für ein Motel mit Klimaanlage entschieden..

Der Strassenzustand ist meist gut bis sehr gut. Sogar die meisten Schotterpisten waren in gutem Zustand. Aspahtierte Strassen werden sehr heiss in der Sonne, weshalb wir mit etwas höherem Reifendruck gefahren sind um ein Überhitzen der Reifen unserer beladenen Motorräder zu vermeiden.

In Sachen Sicherheit sind wilde Tiere wahrscheinlich die grösste Gefahr. Nicht nur Bären können gefährlich werden, sondern auch Berglöwen, und sogar Waschbären können gefährlich sein. Wir schlossen unsere Lebensmitte immer in unsere Alukoffern wenn wir zelteten. Waldbrände können ein echtes Problem und eine Gefahr darstellen. Wir haben daher oft bei Ranger Stationen nach den aktuellen Situation gefragt. Es gibt viele Handy-Apps die Waldbrände zeigen, aber meistens hat man kein Netz in der Mitte von Nirgendwo.

Journey to the middle of nowhere Ich sah dies unterwegs in einem Reisemagazin für Nevada und es sollte das Motto dieser Motorradtour sein.
Oregon Highway 22
Wir verliessen die Interstate 5 bei Salem und fuhren nach Osten auf Highway 22 vorbei an Detroit Lake.
 
Später auf Highway 20 stopten wir um die Aussicht auf Mt. Washington zu geniessen.
Aussicht auf Mt. Washington
Oregon highway 27
In Prineville, OR bogen wir nach Süden ab auf Highway 27, welcher uns in eine Canyon mit vielen Zeltplätzen führte. Crooked River Highway
Motorrad camping auf dem Palisades Campingplatz
Wir entschieden uns für den Palisades Campingplatz und bekamen den besten Platz, am Ende der unteren Ebene mit etwas Schatten.

Nachdem wir das Camp aufgebaut hatten, wanderten wir etwas umher und genossen den Canyon und Crooked River.
Crooked River
Hwy 27 / Crooked River Highway
Am nächsten Morgen ging es weiter auf Hwy 27, Crooked River Hwy. Schöne, kurvige Strecke.

Auf halber Strecke get die Strasse in eine Schotterpiste über, in gutem Zustand mit nur wenig Wellblech.
Hwy 27 / Crooked River Highway, Schotterpiste

Motorrad Alukoffer und Topcases

Gefertigt von einem erfahrenen Motorradreisenden.

Motorrad Alukoffer

Motorrad Topcase + Alukoffer

Motorrad Aluminium Topcase

Alukoffer erhältlich in 47l, 40l und 33l
Topcass erhältlich in 20l und 36l
Silber oder Schwarz

Motorrad Alu Topcase

Motorrad Aluminium Seitenkoffer

Motorrad Alukoffer

Qualität ist entscheidend, nicht nur auf einer RTW Tour.