Click on the photos to enlarge them.                Deutsche Version flag

Map Canada-Alaska Trip 2015
2 weeks
5954 km / 3700 miles

Late August 2015 Jayne and I rode north from Portland, Oregon through Washington State. We decided to do the first 300 miles to the Canadian border by interstate, just to cover some ground. Our first and main goal was Hyder, Alaska.along the Cassiar Highway with Salmon Glacier and the bear watching platform. We then continued on North just barely into Yukon at Watson Lake with the Sign Post Forest. From there we took the Alaska Highway back down. We rode through Jasper and Banff National Park along the Icefield Highway. Then through Yolo National Park and along Franklin D. Roosevelt Lake. After that we took some smaller roads through Washington State and Oregon back home.

Find more about Weather in Hyder, AK  Find more about Weather in Watson Lake, CA
Click for weather forecast
The best time for such a trip is summer, since it can get really cold up there any other time of year, but we still ended up having to ride in snow in Jasper National Park.

The road conditions are generally good,even the Cassiar Highway is comletely paved. One thing to watch out for are the many miles long road construtions sites on the Alaska Highway. They often have removed the pavement for re-paving and graders push up a dirt/gravel berm that one has to cross sometimes.

In terms of safety wild animals are probably the greatest thread. Not only bears can be dangerous, but mountain lions and even racoons can be dangerous. We always left our food in locked aluminum panniers when camping. Another danger are truck drivers on the Alaska Highway, and not only for female hitchhikers. Some of them have no respect for motorcycles and try to push you off the road.

Preparing the bikes for the trip
For the long trip through a very remote area the bikes needed some maintenance before the trip.

The border crossing into Canada wasn't a problem at all.
Border crossing to Canada
Forest Fire Smoke filled air
From Vancouver we took Highway 1 north and then continued north on 97. The first 500+ miles going north we didn't take any photos and we were actually thinking about canceling the trip because of intense smoke from large wilfires in Washinton State that moved north with us. Still lots of smoke
British Columbia, Canada
Around Prince George the smoke finally disappeared and we got to see and enjoy the landscae around us. From there we took Hwy 16 west. Canada Hwy 20 going West
Hyder, Alaska 240 km
In Kitwanga we finally reached the Cassiar Highway (37), which would take us north to Hyder, Alaska. Cassiar Highway
Cassiar Highway going North
The Cassiar Highway is nice, even though one sees mostly trees. We saw lots of wildlife including bears on and near the road. Very little traffic on this road, and few gas stations - don't pass any! About 200 mile range is needed to make it betweenn stations. More Cassiar Highway

Motorcycle aluminum panniers and top cases

Made by an experienced motorcycle traveller.

Motorcycle Aluminium Pannier

Motorcycle Aluminium Top case

Motorcycle Aluminum Top box

Panniers available in 40l and 33l
Top boxs available in 20l and 36l
Silver/Grey or Black

Motorcycle Aluminium Top box

Motorcycle Aluminum Trunk

Motorcycle Aluminum Top case

Quality is essential, not only on a RTW tour.

Bilder zum Vergrößern einfach anklicken.               English Version flag

Karte Canada-Alaska Tour 2015
2 Wochen
5954 km

Ende August 2015 Jayne und ich fuhren von Portland, Oregon durch Washington State nach Norden. Wir entschieden uns die ersten 300 Meilen bis zur Kanadischen Grenze Autobahn zu fahren um etwas Strecke zu machen. Unser erstes und haupt-Ziel war Hyder, Alaska.entlang dem Cassiar Highway mit Salmon Glacier und der Baer-Beobachtungsplattform. Weiter gings dann nach Norden bis gerade etwas nach Yukon hinein bei Watson Lake mit dem Sign Post Forest. Vo dort nahmen wir den Alaska Highway wieder runter. Wir fuhren durch Jasper und Banff National Park ueber den Icefield Highway. Dann durch den Yolo National Park und entlang Franklin D. Roosevelt Lake. Danach nahmen wir einige kleine Strassen durch Washington State und Oregon nach Hause.

Find more about Weather in Hyder, AK  Find more about Weather in Watson Lake, CA
Click for weather forecast
Die beste Reisezeit für solch eine Tour ist der Sommer, da es sehr kalt werden kann dort oben in jeder anderen Jahreszeit. Wir hatten trotzdem Schneefall im Jasper National Park.

Der Strassenzustand ist generell gut, sogar der Cassiar Highway ist inzwischen komplett geteert. Zu beachten sind aber die viele kilometer langen Baustellen im Sommer auf dem Alaska Highway. Oftmals ist der Teer abgefräst und kleine Schotterhügel sind zwischen den Fahrbahnen aufgeschoben, die man manchmal überqueren muss.

In Sachen Sicherheit sind wilde Tiere wahrscheinlich die grösste Gefahr. Nicht nur Bären können gefährlich werden, sondern auch Berglöwen, und sogar Waschbären können gefährlich sein. Wir schlossen unsere Lebensmitte immer in unsere Alukoffern wenn wir zelteten. Eine weitere Gefahr sind LKW-Fahrer, und nicht nur für weibliche Anhalter. Sie haben oft keinen Respekt für Motorradfahrer und versuchen einen von der Strasse zu drängen.

Motorraeder fuer die Tour vorbereiten
Für die lange Tour durch sehr abgelegene Gebiete sollten die Motorräder in top Zustand sein, und brauchen daher vorher etwas Arbeit.

Die Grenze zu Kanada war absolut kein Problem..
Grenzuebergag nach Canada
Rauchgefuelle Luft durch Waldbraende
Von Vancouver nahmen wir Highway 1 nach Norden und weiter auf der 97. Die ersten 800+ km nach Norden machten wir keine Fotos und wir überlegten die Tour abzubrechen, da der sehr dicke Rauch von Waldbränden in Washington mit uns nach Norden zog. Immernoch viel Rauch in der Luft
British Columbia, Kanada
Bei Prince George verschwand der Rauch endlich und wir konnten endlich die wunderschöne Landschaft sehen und geniessen. Kanada Hwy 20 nach Westen
Hyder, Alaska 240 km
In Kitwanga erreichten wir den Cassiar Highway (37), der uns nach Norden zu Hyder, Alaska bringen sollte. Cassiar Highway
Cassiar Highway nach Norden
Der Cassiar Highway ist schön, wenn man auch hauptsächlich Bäume sieht. Er ist viel weniger befahren, als der Alaska Highway. Wir sahen jede Menge wilde Tiere, auch Bären auf und neben der Strasse. Sehr wenig Verkehr und wenige Tankstellen - an keiner vorbeifahren! Gute 300 km Reichweite sind nötig um es von einer Tankstelle zur nächsten zu schaffen. Mehr Cassiar Highway

Motorrad Alukoffer und Topcases

Gefertigt von einem erfahrenen Motorradreisenden.

Motorrad Alukoffer

Motorrad Topcase + Alukoffer

Motorrad Aluminium Topcase

Alukoffer erhältlich in 40l und 33l
Topcass erhältlich in 20l und 36l
Silber oder Schwarz

Motorrad Alu Topcase

Motorrad Aluminium Seitenkoffer

Motorrad Alukoffer

Qualität ist entscheidend, nicht nur auf einer RTW Tour.