Click on the photos to enlarge them.                Deutsche Version flag

Map Oregon-Utah-Nevada Trip 2014
2 weeks
4766 km / 2979 miles

Early June 2014 Jayne and I rode east from Portland, Oregon and the south/east. We decided to do the first 800 miles to Salt Lake City, Utah by interstate, just to cover some ground. Our first goal was Cleveland-Lloyd Dinosaur Quary, from there we continued on to Moab, Utah, where we visited Arches National Park, Canyonlands National Park, and also did some off-road trips. After Jayne had a little mishap and we stayed three days longer in Moab we rode on to Goblin Valley State park, Capitol Reef National Park, and Bryce Canyon National Park. Then we rode once again through empty Nevada and camped in the middle of nowhere and watched the amazingly bright stars. On we continued to Sheldon National Wildlife Refuge and from there rode the Oregon Outback Scenic Byway towards home.

Find more about Weather in Moab, UT
Find more about Weather in Eureka, NV
The best time for such a trip is spring and fall, since in summer it is too hot, especially in Utah and Nevada. But in spring some passes can still be closed due to snow, best look up you route right before you go.

The road conditions are generally good, but on this trip we did some dirt and gravel roads too, which were all in at least decent conditions. Some sections can have sand from floods in spring. Also be aware of possible flash floods.

In terms of safety wild animals are probably be greatest thread. Not only bears can be dangerous, but mountain lions and even racoons can be dangerous. We always left our food in locked aluminum panniers when camping rough.

Cleveland-Lloyd Dinosaur Quarry
Cleveland-Lloyd Dinosaur Quary is a bit off the beaten track, at the end of about 7 miles of gravel. It is certainly not overrun, we were visitors number 7 and 8 that day and got a private tour by the ranger. The exhibits are absolutely impressive and the scenery is quite nice too. Cleveland-Lloyd Dinosaur Quarry
I70 reststop before turnoff to Moab
Once you get past Salt Lake City Utah is a beatiful state, even on rather big highways. I70 reststop before turnoff to Moab
Moab Valley RV Resort and Campground
Our campsite in Moab, Utah at Moab Valley RV Resort and Campground. Beatiful view and good location. We were lucky to get a spot as they fill up often, book in advance. View from Moab Valley RV Resort and Campground
Arches National Park
We spent a full day at Arches National Park but one can easily spent two or even three days there, depending on how much hiking you want to do. Get there early in the morning before the heat kicks in and carry plenty of water. Arches National Park
Arches National Park
Arches is really nice, but it often requires at least a little hiking to get to the arches. While we are normally both ATGATT because of the heat and required hiking we opted for hiking pants. Parking bikes is not a problem, but car parking can get rare. Delicate Arch in Arches National Park

Motorcycle aluminum panniers and top cases

Made by an experienced motorcycle traveller.

Motorcycle Aluminium Pannier

Motorcycle Aluminium Top case

Motorcycle Aluminum Top box

Panniers available in 40l and 33l
Top boxs available in 20l and 36l
Silver/Grey or Black

Motorcycle Aluminium Top box

Motorcycle Aluminum Trunk

Motorcycle Aluminum Top case

Quality is essential, not only on a RTW tour.

Bilder zum Vergrößern einfach anklicken.                English version flag

Karte Oregon-Utah-Nevada Tour 2014
2 Wochen
4766 km

Anfang Juni 2014 Jayne und ich furen unsere Motorräder von Portland, Oregon nach Osten und dann nach Südosten. Wir entschieden uns die ersten 1300 km bis Salt Lake City, Utah per Interstate (Autobahn) zurückzulegen, nur um Zeit zu sparen. Unser erstes Ziel war Cleveland-Lloyd Dinosaur Quary, von dort fuhren wir weiter nach Moab, Utah, wo wir Arches National Park und Canyonlands National Park besuchten. Wir machte auch einige Off-Road tourn. Nachdem Jayne einen kleinen Unfall hatte verbrachten wir drei Tage länger in Moab und fuhren dann weiter nach Goblin Valley State park, Capitol Reef National Park, und Bryce Canyon National Park. Dann fuhren wir wieder einmal durch das menschenleere Nevada und zelteten in der Mitte vo Nirgendwo und bestaunten den unglaublich hellen Sternenhimmel. Weiter ging es zum Sheldon National Wildlife Refuge und über die Oregon Outback Scenic Byway Richtung Heim.

Find more about Weather in Moab, UT
Find more about Weather in Eureka, NV
Die beste Reisezeit für diese ist Frühjahr und Herbst, da es im Sommer zu Heiss ist, besonders in Utah und Nevada. Aber im Frühjahr können einige Pässe noch geschlossen sein. Am besten direkt vor der Tour nachsehen welche Pässe offen sind.

Der Strassenzustand ist im Allgemeinen recht gut. Wir sind auf dieser Tour einige Schotterpisten gefahren, die alle in gutem Zustand waren, ausser an einem trockenen Flussbett, wo wir wegen tiefem Sand umgedreht haben.

Zum Thema Sicherheit kann ich nur sagen, dass Bären in den Waldgebieten von Nordkalifornien weit verbreitet sind, weshalb man unbedingt alle Lebensmittel in die Bärenkisten auf den Campingplätzen packen sollte. Aber auch ander Tiere, wie z.B. Waschbären, können unangenehm werden. Deshalb haben wir unsere Lebensmittel beim wilden Zelten immer in den verschlossenen Alukoffern gelassen.

Cleveland-Lloyd Dinosaur Quarry
Cleveland-Lloyd Dinosaur Quary ist etwas abgelegen, am Ende einer ca. 12 km langen Schotterpiste. Es ist sicherlich nicht mit Touristen überrannt, wir waren Besucher Nr. 7 und 8 an diesem Tag und bekamen eine private Tour vom Park Ranger. Die Ausstellung und AUsgrabung sind absolut sehenswert und auch die Landschaft ist sehr schön. Cleveland-Lloyd Dinosaur Quarry
I70 Rastplatz vor der Moab Ausfahrt
Wenn man erstmal an Salt Lake City in Utah vorbei ist wird die Landschaft sehr schön, auch auf grossen highways. I70 Rastplatz vor der Moab Ausfahrt
Moab Valley RV Resort and Campground
Unser Zeltplatz in Moab, Utah bei Moab Valley RV Resort and Campground. Schöne Aussicht und relativ nahem am Ort mit Restaurants und Geschäften. Wir hatten Glück noch einen Platz zu bekommen da sie oft ausgebucht sind, daher am besten vorher reservieren. Aussicht vom Moab Valley RV Resort and Campground
Arches National Park
Wir verbrachten einen ganzen Tag im Arches National Park, aber man kann auch ganz einfach zwei oder drei Tage dort verbringen, abhängig davon wieviel man Wandern möchte. Am besten früh Morgens gehen um vor der Hitze dort zu sein und viel Wasser mitnehmen. Arches National Park
Arches National Park
Arches ist wirklich sehenswert, aber man muss zumindest etwas Wandern um zu den Arches zu gelangen. Normalerweise fahren wir immer mit kompletter Schutzausrüstung, aber wegen dem Wandern in der Hitze hatten wir dort nur dünne Stoffhosen an. Parkplätze für Motorräder sind kein Problem, aber für Autos kann es schn mal eng werden. Delicate Arch im Arches National Park

Motorrad Alukoffer und Topcases

Gefertigt von einem erfahrenen Motorradreisenden.

Motorrad Aluminium Koffer, Alukoffer

Motorrad Aluminium Topcase

Motorrad Aluminum Topcase

Alukoffer erhältlich in 40l und 33l
Topcass erhältlich in 20l und 36l
Silber oder Schwarz

Motorrad Aluminium Koffer, Alukoffer

Motorrad Aluminium Koffer, Alukoffer

Motorrad Aluminum Topcase

Qualität ist entscheidend, nicht nur auf einer RTW Tour.