Click on the photos to enlarge them.                Deutsche Version

Map Oregon-California-Nevada Trip 2012
2 weeks
3914 km / 2446 miles

At beginning of September 2012 Jayne and I rode from Portland, Oregon south. Our first goal was Lava Beds National Monument right after the "border" from Oregon to California. From there we went further south through Lassen Volcanic National Park and to Lake Tahoe. On to Jackson, CA where we visited Friends at their self built weekend house. From there we rode on south along Mono Lake and June Lake to the Devils Postpile National Monument. Then we rode east to Tonopah in Nevada and then north again. Back in oregon we visited the Alvord desert and rode through the Malheur and Ochoco National Forest. A short side trip over the McKenzie Pass before we had to head home again.

Find more about Weather in Jackson, CA
Find more about Weather in Tonopah, NV
The best time for such a trip is spring and fall, since in summer it is too hot, especially in Nevada. But in spring some passes can still be closed due to snow, best look it up right before you go.

The road conditions are generally good, but on this trip we did some gravel roads too, which were all in good conditions too.

In terms of safety I have to say that there are many bears in the forests of northern California, therefore one should put all food items into bear boxes at camping sites. But other animals, e.g. Racoons, can become dangerous too. Therefore we always left our food in locked panniers when camping rough.

Lava Beds National Monument
Lava Beds National Monument is, as the name states, a large area with many different lava flows, absolutely impressive. Lava Beds National Monument
Petroglyphs
Only a few miles away one can also see prehistoric Petroglypes. No entrance fee. Petroglyphs
lava tubes
Lava Beds is so special for it's many lava tubes, which are ranked from easy to difficult and can all be visited. A strong flashlight is highly recommendable, our head lamps were a little weak. A helmet is a good idea and depending on the tubes ranking knee and elbow pads too. We only visited the easy tubes. lava tubes
extreme fire danger
There was extreme fire danger for most of the trip due to lack of rain and high temperatures. Therefore most camping sites didn't allow fires. We passed some forest fires and fire camps on the trip. extreme fire danger
Lassen Volcanic National Park
We rode to the Lassen Volcanic National Park. the road over the pass is twisty and offers beautiful views. Lassen Volcanic National Park

Motorcycle aluminum panniers and top cases

Made by an experienced motorcycle traveller.

Motorcycle Aluminium Pannier

Motorcycle Aluminium Top case

Motorcycle Aluminum Top box

Panniers available in 40l and 33l
Top boxs available in 20l and 36l
Silver/Grey or Black

Motorcycle Aluminium Top box

Motorcycle Aluminum Trunk

Motorcycle Aluminum Top case

Quality is essential, not only on a RTW tour.

Bilder zum Vergrößern einfach anklicken.             English version

Karte Californien-Nevada-Tour 2012
2 Wochen
3914 km

Anfang September 2012 fuhren Jayne und ich von Portland, Oregon nach Süden. Unser erstes Ziel war Lava Beds National Monument direkt hinter der "Grenze" von Oregon nach Kalifornien. Von dort ging es weiter nach Süden durch den Lassen Volcanic National Park und zum Lake Tahoe. Weiter nach Jackson, CA wo wir Freunde von uns in ihrem selbstgebauten Wochenendhaus besuchten. Von dort ging es dann wieder nach Süden vorbei am Mono Lake und June Lake zum Devils Postpile National Monument. Dann fuhren wir nach Osten bis Tonopah in Nevada und von da an nach Norden. Zurück in Oregon besuchten wir das Alvord Desert und fuhren durch den Malheur und Ochoco National Forest. Noch ein kurzer Abstecher zum McKenzie Pass befor es dann wieder nach Hause ging.

Find more about Weather in Jackson, CA
Find more about Weather in Tonopah, NV
Die Beste Reisezeit für solch eine Tour ist Frühling und Herbst, da es im Sommer insbesondere in Nevada einfach zu heiss ist. Aber im Frühling können noch einige Pässe wegen Schnee geschlossen sein, vorher informieren.

Der Strassenzustand ist im Allgemeinen recht gut, wir sind auf unserer Tour aber auch einige Schotterpisten gefahren, die aber alle in einem guten Zustand waren.

Zum Thema Sicherheit kann ich nur sagen, dass Bären in den Waldgebieten von Nordkalifornien weit verbreitet sind, weshalb man unbedingt alle Lebensmittel in die Bärenkisten auf den Campingplätzen packen sollte. Aber auch ander Tiere, wie z.B. Waschbären, können unangenehm werden. Deshalb haben wir unsere Lebensmittel beim wilden Zelten immer in den verschlossenen Alukoffern gelassen.

Lava Beds National Monument
Lava Beds National Monument ist, wie der Name schon verrät, ein grosses Gebiet mit diversen Lavaflüssen, sehr beeindruckend. Lava Beds National Monument
Petroglyphs
Nur ein paar Meilen entfernt gibt es auch prähistorische Felsritzungen (Petroglyphs) zu bewundern. Kostenloser Eintritt. Petroglyphs
Lavatunnel
Das besondere an Lava Beds sind sicher die vielen Lavatunnel, die in verschiedene Schwierigkeitsklassen eingeteilt sind und alle besucht werden können. Hierfür sind gute Taschenlampen dringend zu empfehlen, unsere Stirnlampen waren etwas schwach. Auch ein Helm ist empfehlenswert und je nach Schwierigkeitsgrad auch Knie- und Ellbogenschützer. Aber wir haben nur die einfachen Tunnel besucht. Lavatunnel
Waldbrandgefahr
Durch die langanhaltende Trockenheit bestand extreme Waldbrandgefahr und wir sahen auch einige Waldbrände auf der Tour. Deshalb waren auch Feuer auf den Campingplätzen verboten. Waldbrandgefahr
Lassen Volcanic National Park
Wir fuhren dann zum Lassen Volcanic National Park. Die Strasse über den Pass ist sehr kurvig und bietet sehr schöne Aussichten. Lassen Volcanic National Park

Motorrad Alukoffer und Topcases

Gefertigt von einem erfahrenen Motorradreisenden.

Motorrad Aluminium Koffer, Alukoffer

Motorrad Aluminium Topcase

Motorrad Aluminum Topcase

Alukoffer erhältlich in 40l und 33l
Topcass erhältlich in 20l und 36l
Silber oder Schwarz

Motorrad Aluminium Koffer, Alukoffer

Motorrad Aluminium Koffer, Alukoffer

Motorrad Aluminum Topcase

Qualität ist entscheidend, nicht nur auf einer RTW Tour.