Click on the photos to enlarge them.                Deutsche Version flag

Map Japan Trip 2019

1 day
337 km / 210 miles

Early September 2019 I flew to Japan for a business trip. I decided to stay a day longer and rent a motorcycle to see at least a little of Japan. The last time I was there, years ago, it was in winter with lots of snow and I didn't even get to see much of the city I was in.

Renting a motorcycle online through 819rental.com was easy, it didn't require any pre-payment, and provided good information on required documents and the process on site.

I rented a helmet too, but brougth the rest of my gear, pants, jacket, and gloves. The helmet was very used and beat up, but better than nothing.


The best time for such a trip is late spring or early fall. Summer temperatures are hot and very humid in this part of Japan (I still had temperatures in the 90+F (32+C) in early September, cooler on the mountains and the coast. Winter has lots of snow and on the mountains (though not very high mountains). There can still be snow in late spring and already in early fall. If you are riding on the south/west coast there may be Typhoons in fall.

The road conditions are generally good. Many major roads are toll roads, where you pay with a device on-the-go, or pay in cash (no credit cards).

Japan drives on the left side, like in England. The speed limits are very low, so keep that in mind for planning a route.

Typhoon warning
There was a Typhoon about to hit the Tokyo area before I left, but my flight arrived as planned (the last hour of the flight was a bit rough though).
 
After de-boarding the flight I found out that all trains from Narita Airport were cancelled, but trains were supposed to be running from Tokyo station. So several hundred people tried to get taxis or bus tickets to Tokyo. The lines were absolutely insanely long, but also surprisingly orderly. I waited in line for a taxi for over 4 hours. 
Endless line waiting for taxis
With French girls on a taxi
In 4 hours only 3 taxis arrived, so I knew I had to do something else. In line I met 3 women, 2 from France and one from Japan, and the 4 of us came up with a plan. We grabbed a taxi that had just dropped somebody off. He wasn't allowed to take us from there, but the Japanese woman, coached by the French, talked him into doing it anyway. Leave it to the French to break any rules ;-) Over 2 hours later we arrived in Tokyo on side roads, lots of main roads were closed too.

Of course I missed the last Shinkansen of the day leaving Tokyo statio by 10 minutes, 10! I was stranded in Tokyo and looked for a hotel. The third hotel finally had a room available and I took it without even asking for the price.
Shinkansen Ticket Office
Yamagata Castle
If you ever find yourself in Yamagata, Japan, I recommend visiting Kajo Park with Yamagata Castle. Yamagata Castle
Cherry's Harley in Yamagata, Japan
I took a taxi to Cherryl's Harley Davidson store in Yamagata Japan to pick up my rental motorcycle, NOT a Harley. Unfortunatelly they don't open until 10 am, I would have wanted to leave earlier.

The store has Harley's on one side and everything else on the other side
Cherry's Harley in Yamagata, Japan
Cherry's Harley in Yamagata, Japan The sales guy from which I rented the motorcycle was a very nice guy. Unfortunatelly he didn't speak a word of English, and neither did anybody else in the shop. But 819rental had supplied them and myself with paperwork in English and Japanese, so it wasn't a big deal that we couldn't communicate other than with hand signs.

Motorcycle aluminum panniers and top cases

Made by an experienced motorcycle traveller.

Motorcycle Aluminium Pannier

Motorcycle Aluminium Top case

Motorcycle Aluminum Top box

Panniers available in 47l, 40l and 33l
Top boxs available in 20l and 36l
Silver/Grey or Black

Motorcycle Aluminium Top box

Motorcycle Aluminum Trunk

Motorcycle Aluminum Top case

Quality is essential, not only on a RTW tour.

Bilder zum Vergrößern einfach anklicken.                English version flag

Map Japan Trip 2019

1 Tag
337 km

Anfang  September 2019 flog ich nach Japan auf Geschäftsreise. Ich beschloss einen Tag länger zu bleiben und ein Motorrad zu mieten, um wenigstens ein wenig von Japan zu sehen. Das letzte Mal, dass ich da war, vor Jahren, war im Winter mit jeder Menge Schnee und ich habe deshalb damals noch nicht mal wirklich die Stadt gesehen in der ich war.

Ein Motorrad in Japan zu mieten geht im Internet recht einfach durch 819rental.com. Es war keine Vorkasse nötig, und sie gaben gute Informationen zu benötigten Dokumenten und dem Ablauf der Miete vor Ort. 

Ich habe auch einen Helm gemietet, brachte aber meine restliche Ausrüstung selbst mit (Hose, Jacke, Stiefel und Handschuhe). Der Helm war sehr stark benutzt, mit Macken und Kratzern überall, aber er war besser als kein Helm.



Die beste Reisezeit für so eine Tour is der späte Frühling oder frühe Herbst. Im Sommer sind Temperaturen sehr heiss mit hoher Luftfeuchtigkeit in diesem Teil von Japan (ich hatte immernoch 32C Anfang September, kühler auf den Bergen und an der Küste). Im Winter gibt es viel Schnee in den Bergen (wenn sie auch nicht sehr Hoch sind). Im späten Frühling kann noch etwas Schnee liegen, oder auch schon im früen Herbst. An der Südlichen und Westlichen Küste kann es im Herbst zu  Typhoons kommen.

Der Strassenzustand ist im allgemeinen gut.Viele Hauptstrassen sind gebührenpflichtig, wo man mit einem elektronischen Gerät bezahlt, oder mit Bargeld (keine Kreditkarten).

In Japan fährt man auf der linken Seite, wie in England. Die Höchstgeschwindigkeit ist sehr niedrig, was man für die Planung einer Tour berücksichtigen muss.

Typhoon warning
Ein Typhoon war erwartet Tokyo zu treffen, kurz bevor ich abreiste, aber mein Flug kam pünktlich an (die letzte Stunde Flug war aber etwas turbulent).
 
Nachem ich das Flugzug verlassen hatte erfuhr ich, dass alle Züge vom Narita Flughafen abgesagt waren, aber dass die Züge vom Tokyo Bahnhof sollten noch fahren. Einige hunderd Personen versuchten Busfahrscheine zu bekommen oder ein Taxi zu nehmen. Die Warteschlangen waren absolut wahnsinnig lang, aber erstaunlich geordnet. Ich wartete in der Schlange auf ein Taxi für 4 Stunden. 
Endless line waiting for taxis
With French girls on a taxi
In 4 Stunden nur 3 Taxis kamen an, also war klar, dass ich etwas anderes machen musste I knew I had to do something else. In der Schlange lernte ich 3 Frauen kennen, 2 aus Frankreich und einen aus Japan. Wir 4 heckten einen Plan aus. Wir sprangen in ein Taxi, dass gerade jemanden abgesetzt hatte. Der Fahrer war nicht erlaubt uns von dort mitzunehmen, aber die Japanerin, unterstützt bei den Franzosen, schaffte es ihn zu überreden uns von dort mitzunehmen. Lass es den Franzosen aller Regeln zu brechen ;-) Nach 2 Stunden Fahrt erreichten wir Tokyo auf Seitenstrassen, da viele Hauptstrassen überflutet waren.

Natürlich verpasste ich den letzten Shinkansen der an dem Tag Tokyo verliess bei 10 Minuten, 10! Ich war in Tokyo gestrandet und startete die Suche nach einem Hotel. Das dritte Hotel hatte endlich ein Zimmer frei und ich nahm es ohne auch nur nach dem Preis zu fragen.
Shinkansen Ticket Office
Yamagata Castle
Wenn Du jemals in Yamagata, Japan sein solltest, dann empfehle ich den Kajo Park zu besuchen. Im Park ist auch das Yamagata Castle. Yamagata Castle
Cherry's Harley in Yamagata, Japan
Ich nahm ein Taxi zu Cherryl's Harley Davidson in Yamagata Japan um mein gemietetes Motorrad abzuholen, aber KEINE Harley. Leider machen sie erst um 10 Uhr morgens auf, ich hätte die Tour gerne früher gestartet.
Der Laden hat Harley's auf einer Seite und alles andere auf der anderen Seite.
Cherry's Harley in Yamagata, Japan
Cherry's Harley in Yamagata, Japan Der Verkäufer vn dem ich das Motorrad mietete war sehr nett. Leider sprach er kein Wort Englisch, genau wie alle anderen im anderen. Aber 819rental hatte mir und dem Laden alle benötigten Formulare in Englisch und Japanisch zugeschickt, so dass es kein Problem war dass wir nicht kommunizieren konnten ausser mit Handzeichen.

Motorcycle aluminum panniers and top cases

Made by an experienced motorcycle traveller.

Motorcycle Aluminium Pannier

Motorcycle Aluminium Top case

Motorcycle Aluminum Top box

Panniers available in 47l, 40l and 33l
Top boxs available in 20l and 36l
Silver/Grey or Black

Motorcycle Aluminium Top box

Motorcycle Aluminum Trunk

Motorcycle Aluminum Top case

Quality is essential, not only on a RTW tour.